I just posted a “Book Note” on How the Mighty Fall, Jim Collins’ new book. You will recall him as the author of, “Good to Great” and “Built to Last.” These two books deal with how companies and organizations went from one level of success to the next.  How the Mighty Fall deals with what leads to failure as opposed to what leads to success.

Collins describes a five stage process:

1.  Hubris Born of Success

2.  Undisciplined Pursuit of More

3.  Denial of Risk and Peril

4.  Grasping for Salvation

5.  Capitulation to Irrelevance or Death


Check it out by going to the link above and clicking on How the Mighty Fall.

I found it profoundly insightful for me personally as well as highly applicable to the ministry I work with and the church in which I serve.